36th Annual Smithsonian Craft Show

Fact Sheet

April 26 – 29, 2018

National Building Museum, Washington, DC



Mark your calendars for the 36th annual Smithsonian Craft Show, the most prestigious juried show and sale of American fine craft in the country.  One hundred-twenty premier artists representing all facets of contemporary design and craft will be selected from a pool of more than 1,000 artists nationwide.

This nationally-recognized event is an opportunity to connect with major artists who are leaders in their respective media.  Serious collectors and casual visitors alike will find one-of-a-kind works of art in all price ranges.

The selected works represent 12 different media – basketry, ceramics, decorative fiber, furniture, glass, jewelry, leather, metal, mixed media, paper, wearable art and wood.

Jurors who will select the 2018 artists are:

Bruce Helander, Independent art critic and writer, curator, artist;

Jane Milosch, Director, Smithsonian Provenance Research Initiative and curator;

Shoji Satake, Asst. Professor in Ceramics, West Virginia University.



Wednesday, April 25, 2018

     -Preview Night: The invitation-only gala includes an opportunity to be the first to see and buy featured fine craft

Thursday 10:30 am – 8:00 pm

     -Friends Night Out: 5 pm – 8 pm Fun, shopping and signature drinks created by notable mixologists in DC.  Cash bar and complimentary snacks with general admission.

Friday 10:30 am – 5:30 pm

Saturday 10:30 am – 5:30 pm

Sunday 11:00 am – 5:00 pm



National Building Museum

401 F Street, NW, Washington DC 20001

Metro Red Line – Judiciary Square Station, F Street Exit



$250 Preview Night

$20 Daily Admission, including program

$15 advance online tickets (link will be posted here when available)

$30 Two-day pass


The Smithsonian Craft Show, produced by the Smithsonian Women’s Committee, supports yearly grants to the Smithsonian’s 19 museums and galleries, nine research facilities, traveling exhibits and the National Zoo.  Over $11.5 million in grants and endowments have been awarded since 1966.