2018 Smithsonian Craft Show Awards Presented on Preview Night


Lloyd Herman: Founding Director, Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum

Crawford Alexander Mann III: Curator of Prints and Drawings, Smithsonian American Art Museum

MaryAnn Wilkinson: Exhibitions Director, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan, and Adjunct Curator of Modern Art, University of Michigan Museum of Art



Best of Show – Nicario Jimenez (Mixed Media)

Donors: Lawrence Hough, Timothy Harr

Gold Award — The Susie Gray Founder’s Award – Claire Kelly (Glass)

Donor: Geoffrey Gray, to be selected by Susie Gray, SWC member and founder of the Smithsonian Craft Show

Silver Award – Holly Anne Mitchell (Jewelry)

Donor: Nelnet

Bronze Award – Michael Dickey (Ceramics)

Donors: Diane and Marc Grainer

Excellence in Ceramics – Irina Okula 

Donated in memory of L. Marvin Hill

Excellence in Glass – Michael Schunke and Josie Gluck 

Donors: Caroline and Jim Norman

Excellence in Jewelry – Biba Schutz 

Donor: Ornament Magazine, to be selected by Carolyn Benesh

New Direction — Excellence in Design of the Future – Nicolette Jelen (Glass)

Donor: Kate Nemec Simonds

Honoring the Future Sustainability Award – Mary Jane Piccuirro (Mixed Media)

Donor: Honoring the Future, an Open Space Institute Project, to be selected by Lloyd Herman

First Time Exhibitor Award – James Carter (Metal)

Donor: Betty Foster



These awards are voted on by the exhibitors and presented on Thursday, April 26 at 7:00 pm.

Gold Award  – Ben Strear (Wood)

Donors: Martha and David Martin

Silver Award – Fred Kaemmer (Glass)

Donors: Louise C. Millikan, Alix Myerson and Eloise C. Poretz, in loving memory of Margaret C. Collins and to honor her many years of service

Bronze Award – Evan Chambers (Mixed Media)

Donor: Sarah Ducich and Don Blanchon